WEBINARS

The BD Biosciences Webinar Series is an ongoing, informative program in which senior scientists, professionals in the community, and clinicians present online seminars covering a broad range of topics.


Flow Cytometry Applications in CRISPR-Cas Systems and Molecular Biology

Date: Wednesday, September 21, 2016
Time: 1 PM EDT / 10 AM PDT / 6 PM GMT / 7 PM CET
Speakers:

Chase Beisel, PhD, Assistant Professor, Chemical And Biomolecular Engineering
North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA


Mirko Corselli, PhD, Supervisor, Research and Development
BD Life Sciences, San Diego, CA, USA

Register Here

Abstract:

CRISPR-Cas systems are naturally adaptive immune systems found in bacteria and archaea. They have revolutionized the field of genome editing and have other applications as well. Flow cytometry is an important tool to measure gene expression in CRISPR-Cas systems, and the new BD Accuri™ C6 Plus personal flow cytometer allows researchers to collect and analyze this data right on their benchtop.

After a brief introduction to the BD Accuri C6 Plus, Dr. Corselli will begin with an overview of molecular biology applications of flow cytometry, including detection of fluorescent proteins such as GFP, YFP and mCherry in human cell lines and bacteria, and monitoring GFP transfection efficiency. Dr. Beisel will then give an overview of CRISPR-Cas systems and how they can be co-opted as biomolecular tools. He will describe his lab’s work, using a BD Accuri™ flow cytometer, to probe the properties of Type I CRISPR-Cas systems and develop a high-throughput method of determining the rules for DNA target recognition.

Biographies:

Chase Beisel

Chase Beisel received his PhD in Chemical Engineering from the California Institute of Technology in 2009. He then completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the National Institutes of Health before beginning his faculty position in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at North Carolina State University in 2011. His research interests focus on understanding and engineering CRISPR-Cas immune systems. His efforts have established and advanced multiple applications including genome editing, gene regulation and targeted antimicrobials. We interviewed Dr. Beisel about CRISPR-Cas microbial engineering in BD Accuri News in 2015.


Mirko Corselli 160921 Webinar


Mirko Corselli received his PhD in Clinical and Experimental Hematology and Oncology from the University of Genova, Italy. He then transferred to the University of California, Los Angeles, to continue his research as a post-doctoral fellow. Most of his academic work has focused on the biology and therapeutic potential of human mesenchymal stromal/stem cells (MSCs). He has developed multicolor flow cytometry strategies for the purification and characterization of MSCs from multiple human tissues.



Class 1 Laser Product

For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic or therapeutic procedures.