Webinars

The BD Biosciences Webinar Series is an ongoing, informative program in which senior scientists present online seminars covering a broad range of topics.


Cell Biology Applications of Real-Time Flow Cytometry

Date: Monday, September 29, 2014
Time: 12PM EST / 9AM PST / 5PM BST/IST
Speakers:
Alfonso Blanco-Fernández, Director, Flow Cytometry Core Platform
UCD–Conway Institute of Biomolecular and Biomedical Research, University College Dublin, Ireland

Christopher Ian Jones, Senior Research Fellow
School of Biological Sciences, University of Reading, UK

Register here »

Abstract:

Researchers are increasingly using flow cytometry to measure kinetic cellular processes that change over time, such as cellular response to an external event or stimulus. A new method, called continuous or “real-time” flow cytometry, involves adding an agent to a sample while simultaneously analyzing it. The method can measure almost any dynamic process and is broadly applicable in cell biology and many other fields of research.

In this webinar, two pioneers of kinetic analysis using real-time flow cytometry will outline its advantages and challenges for cell biology applications. Drs. Blanco-Fernández and Jones will describe their experimental setups, illustrate the kinds of rich data and surprising insights that kinetic studies can provide, and offer tips and techniques for successful acquisition and analysis of time-series data.

All sample data will be obtained on the BD Accuri™ C6 personal flow cytometer, which has an open, non-pressurized fluidics system that makes it ideal for kinetic studies. External agents can easily be added during sampling.

Class 1 Laser Product.
For Research Use Only. Not for use in diagnostic or therapeutic procedures.